Top Ten Tuesday (25)

Top Ten Books on my Fall To Be Read Pile!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created over at The Broke and the Bookish which I adore and therefore chose to adopt into my weekly blog posts!

I had to go literal and only pick books that are being published during the literal autumn to winter timeframe because I can’t narrow them down, and I also only added books that I have not read with the exception of one because it was too great not to add. So, here we go…

Jane: The Woman Who Loved Tarzan by Robin Maxwell – “When dashing American explorer Ral Conrath invites Jane and her father on an expedition deep into West Africa, she can hardly believe her luck. Rising to the challenge, Jane finds an Africa that is every bit as beautiful and fascinating as she has always imagined. But she quickly learns that the lush jungle is full of secrets–and so is Ral Conrath. When danger strikes, Jane finds her hero, the key to humanity’s past, and an all-consuming love in one extraordinary man: Tarzan of the Apes.” I have had great luck with retellings of historical fiction lately, I hope this one is just as awesome.

Jepp, Who Defied the Stars by Katherine Marsh – “Before Jepp can become the master of his own destiny, he will need to prove himself to a brilliant and eccentric new master—a man devoted to uncovering the secrets of the stars—earn the love of a girl brave and true, and unearth the long-buried secrets of his parentage. And he will find that beneath the breathtaking cruelty of the world is something else: the persistence of human kindness.” I met the author and rec’d a signed copy at BEA and she was wonderful, I have high hopes for this one!

The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – “In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?” Ummm I LOVED the first book in the series and have her that this book is filled with epic amazingness so I NEED to read the sequel now please.

Flame of Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier – “When Maeve finds one of the missing travelers murdered in the woods, she and her brother Finbar embark on a journey that may bring about the end of Mac Dara’s reign — or lead to a hideous death. But if she is successful, Maeve may open a door to a future she has not dared to believe possible..” I feel like I don’t even have to explain this one. Quite easily my MOST ANTICIPATED READ ever (or of 2012).

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes – “In a land where magic has been forgotten but peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest is simmering. Three kingdoms grapple for power–brutally transforming their subjects’ lives in the process. Amidst betrayals, bargains, and battles, four young people find their fates forever intertwined..” WHEW, just made the cut for this one to be on the list for autumn! I showcased this one on my Waiting on Wednesday post a few months back, I really hope it is as awesome as it looks.

Amber House by Kelly Moore –  “Sarah Parsons has never seen Amber House, the grand Maryland estate that’s been in her family for three centuries. She’s never walked its hedge maze nor found its secret chambers; she’s never glimpsed the shades that haunt it, nor hunted for lost diamonds in its walls…But all of that is about to change.” This is the only one I added to the list that I have already read and I CANNOT WAIT to review it for you guys. It was creepy and really rather amazing. Perfect for Halloween time!!

Sacred by Elana K. Arnold – “A grieving girl meets a boy with mystical powers in this passionate love story” Sounds creepy with potential to be pretty great!

Fairy Tales by The Brothers Grimm: A New English Version by Philip Pullman – “From much-loved stories like “Cinderella” and “Rumpelstiltskin,” “Rapunzel” and “Hansel and Gretel” to lesser-known treasures like “Briar-Rose,” “Thousandfurs,” and “The Girl with No Hands,” Pullman retells his fifty favorites, paying homage to the tales that inspired his unique creative vision—and that continue to cast their spell on the Western imagination.” Uhhh guys? It’s Grimm’s Fairy Tales rewritten…by Philip Pullman…

The Turning by Francine Prose – “Where does reality end and insanity begin? The Turn of the Screw reinvented for modern-day teens, by National Book Award finalist Francine Prose.” Yet another creepy book perfect for this time of year!

Mystic City by Theo Lawrence – “Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City’s two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents’ sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn’t remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory…” For fans of The Hunger Games and Matched…hmm I’ll give it a try..

The Stockholm Octavo by Karen Engelmann – “For fans of Patrick Suskind’s classic Perfume comes a dazzling debut, set during Stockholm’s opulent Golden Age that brilliantly interweaves history, romance, and intrigue, in which one man’s fortune holds the key to a nation’s precarious fate…” I am extremely intrigued by this one, the cover is brilliant and it has real potential to be a unique read.

WOO! Autumn has the best releases!! What books are on your To Be Read pile for Autumn?

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (25)

    • Ummm yes add them..well I can’t say for sure except that I LOVED Amber House and I LOVE Juliet Marillier but you should really read the other books in the Sevenwaters “series” first..also The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was SOO VERY GOOD so you should read that one ASAP before Evolution comes out (which is sure to be amazing) I have an ARC of Falling Kingdoms and it looks like epic fantasy so I am very excited..the others I can’t be sure about. I am hoping Jane is good but there is no way to know and I am wary…

  1. Falling Kingdoms sound great. Still haven’t read Mara Dyer but I’ve seen the second book on so many lists today. Yet another book added to my ever growing TBR pile 🙂

  2. Hi, new subscriber here!

    Great list-I haven’t really explored the fall releases yet but I’m getting really excited after looking at lots of people’s lists.

    I wasn’t in love with The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer but I loved its ending so that makes me anxious to find out what will be revealed in The Evolution.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s